2015 Primary Election in Kentucky








Fayette County Democratic Headquarters
Office Hours starting January 20th:

Monday  – 12pm – 3:00pm
Tuesday – 12pm – 3:00pm
Thursday – 12pm – 3:00pm

Louie Mack / Banahan Awards

It’s time again to make nominations for the Louie Mack & Steve Banahan Awards.  Completed forms must be received by March 25, 2015, at 5:00pm.  Forms may be submitted (attn: Awards Committee) via mail (PO Box 1486, Lexington, KY 40588), email (FayetteDemocratsKY@gmail.com), online form, or hand delivery (431 S. Broadway, Lexington, KY 40507).

Forms are available at FCDP Headquarters or click the links below to print out copies:

Steve Banahan Award

 Louie Mack Award

Rules for Nomination of Awards



February Executive Committee Meeting

Message from the Acting – Chair

Fellow Democrats,

2015 is off to a great start.  What an exceptional group of Democratic candidates we are fortunate to have for our Constitutional elections. This will be a fun and exciting year. I am predicting a Democratic clean sweep!
As always, everyone is invited to our monthly FCDP Executive Committee meetings. February’s meeting will be Thursday, February 12th, 6:30 pm at FCDP Headquarters, 431 S. Broadway. During this meeting, we will be electing a new County Party Chair. Also, we will be discussing plans for our Annual Awards Dinner, which will be held on Tuesday, April 14th — mark your calendars; it promises to be a wonderful evening!
Many thanks,
Paula Lewis
Acting Chair

Save the Date!

Be sure to mark your calendars for Saturday, March 14th and join the FCDP in the St. Patrick’s Day parade.  More details coming soon!

Message from the Chair

Now that Lexington’s 2014 election is over, I want to thank our many candidates and our hard-working dedicated volunteers for their contributions in the fall campaign.  We had some great wins, and we lost some races with outstanding and deserving candidates.  None of it would be possible without our combined volunteer efforts.  Lexington continues to be strongly Democratic, and will continue to play a central role in elections in Kentucky.  Please continue your work with us in 2015 as Kentucky’s constitutional officers will be elected.   Please also share any suggestions you have for the Fayette County Democratic Party as we move forward toward 2015.  I can be reached by email at boblayton@gmail.com.

Bob Layton, Chair

FCDP T-shirts

FCDP T-Shirts
Fayette County T-Shirts are available!!

$10.00 for S-XLarge
$12.00 for XXL!

Available now at FCDP Headquarters!

FCDP Executive Committee

Bob Layton

Paula Lewis

Stephanie Spires

Assistant Secretary
Brenda Mannino

Carol Raitz

Young Dems President
Josh Mers

Andrea Ewen

Committee Members
Gina Bess
Pam Broughman
Sandy Broughman
Craig Cammack
Donna Moore Campbell
Diana Clewett
Yolanda Costner
Wanita Elison
Andrea Ewen
Kelly Flood
Ann Garrity
Wrensey Gill
Tommy Glover
David Gross
Michael Haskins
Elisabeth Jensen
Brenda McClanahan
Ken McClanahan
Bob McNulty
Doug McSwain
Rick Meadows
Joyce Merritt
George Mills
Clint Morris
David O’Neill
Freddy Peraltta
Chuck Powell
Lil Press
Chrysanthia Carr-Seals
Lori Shelburne
Kenneth Stephens
Rita Stevenson
Sid Webb
Alayne White
Steve Wyatt

Kentucky Democratic Party State Central Committee

Andrea Ewen
Diane Hancock
Bob Layton
Brenda McClanahan
George Mills
Clint Morris
RuthAnn Palumbo


Democrats form the oldest political party in America and the youngest in spirit. For more than 200 years, Democrats have represented the interests of working families, fighting for equal opportunities and justice for all Americans. Our party was founded on the conviction that wealth and privilege should not be an entitlement to rule and the belief that the values of hardworking families are values that should guide us.Today Democrats are fighting to repair the damage done during the Bush years and grow an economy based on the values of Main Street, not greed and reckless speculation.


The vision is simple. Democrats want an America that gives all Americans the chance to live out their dreams and achieve their God-given potential. Democrats want an America that is still the world’s strongest force for peace and freedom. And Democrats want an America that is coming together around our enduring values instead of drifting apart.


The Fayette County Democratic Party’s mission is to support and promote the ideals of the Democratic National Committee and the Kentucky Democratic Party. FCDP promotes those principles and values, operates and maintains a grassroots network of people that is open, inclusive and accessible to all, encourages lifelong active participation by local Democrats, and takes an active part in the election process. The local party serves to recruit, support and elect progressive candidates for county, state and national offices. Executive Committee Meets on the second Thursday of each month at 6:30 PM at 431 South Broadway.  All meetings are open, and we welcome guests